Clemson football will have several future college hall of fame inductees


Clemson football did not have any inductees named among the 2020 College Football Hall of Fame inductees, however, several Tigers should get that call over the next 20 years.

It should not be shocking that Clemson football did not have any inductees this year, they did not have any nominees in 2020. Looking over the Clemson football from the last 15 years, they do have quite a few players that should get the call in the next few years.

In case you are unaware, according to the College Football Hall of Fame, here are the current requirements to be nominated for this award.

"First and foremost, a player must have received First-Team All-America recognition by a selector organization that is recognized by the NCAA and utilized to comprise their consensus All-America teams."

"A player becomes eligible for consideration by the Foundation’s honors courts 10 years after his final year of intercollegiate football played."

"While each nominee’s football achievements in college are of prime consideration, his post-football record as a citizen is also weighed.  He must have proven himself worthy as a citizen, carrying the ideals of football forward into his relations with his community and fellow man.  Consideration may also be given for academic honors and whether or not the candidate earned a college degree."

"Players must have played their last year of intercollegiate football within the last 50 years."

Clemson football currently has three players inducted into the hall of fame – Banks McFadden, Terry Kinard, and Jeff Davis. They also have three coaches – John Heisman, Frank Howard, and Danny Ford. With these requirements in mind, here are the Tigers that will be eligible over the next 20 years.

Gaines Adams, DE, 2004-2006

Gaines Adams is the defensive lineman all current defensive lineman are compared to. Even though he was only at Clemson for three seasons, he was an absolute monster his final two years in a Tiger uniform.

In his final 25 games as a Clemson football player, Gaines accumulated 27.5 tackles for loss and 21 sacks while being named a unanimous all-American in 2006. As we know, Gaines passed away in January of 2010.

C.J. Spiller, RB, 2006-2009

C.J. Spiller is one of three Clemson football players to have his number retired by the program. In order for anyone to wear his number, he must personally approve of that player, which he did for former five-star running back Tavien Feaster.

Spiller ended his career as the most beloved and one of the most decorated players to ever wear orange and purple. While all of his running back statistics have been eclipsed by current running back Travis Etienne, what won’t be eclipsed any time soon is his total career yards. He currently has 7,588 total yards when accounting for his rushing, receiving, kick return and punt return yards.

Da’Quan Bowers, DE, 2008-2010

Da’Quan Bowers was the first number player in the country to choose Clemson when he did so in 2008 and his career lived up to all the expectations.

When Bowers left Clemson early for the NFL, he not only was a unanimous All-American in 2010, he was also the 2010 Bronco Nagurski winner, 2010 Ted Hendricks winner, and 2010 ACC defensive player of the year.

Da’Quan came back to Clemson after his NFL career was over and began his career as a student assistant coach as he finished his degree. When former Clemson co-offensive coordinator Jeff Scott was hired in 2020 to be the head coach at South Florida, he hired Bowers to be his defensive line coach.

Deshaun Watson, QB, 2014-2016

Arguably the most important player in Clemson football history. Shockingly he was never a unanimous All-American despite being the first college quarterback to throw for four thousand yards while rushing for a thousand or more.

Like Spiller, Watson will one day join the Clemson Ring of Honor. Not only did he lead Clemson to a national title, but he also graduated in three years and was named the winner of Habitat for Humanity International’s inaugural Next Generation Award in 2015.

dark. Next. The 10 greatest ‘what-ifs’ in Tiger History

Christian Wilkins, DL, 2015-2018

There will never be a bigger personality to wear a Clemson football uniform than Christian Wilkins. Grown men cried when he announced he was returning to Clemson for his senior year in college and then helped lead Clemson to a second national title in his four years.

Wilkins ended his Clemson career with 40.5 tackles for loss, 16 sacks, a two-time All-American selection, Jim Tatum award winner, William V. Campbell Trophy winner (Academic Heisman) and the Bill Wills Trophy winner.