Clemson Football: Who can Dabo Swinney pass for career wins in 2024?

Dabo Swinney passed Frank Howard as the winningest coach in Clemson history in 2023. There are several legendary names Swinney can pass in 2024 depending on how successful the Tigers can be next season.
Clemson President Jim Clements surprises football Head Coach Dabo Swinney with a bear hug
Clemson President Jim Clements surprises football Head Coach Dabo Swinney with a bear hug / Ken Ruinard / staff / USA TODAY NETWORK

Clemson Football head coach Dabo Swinney passed Frank Howard this season to become the winningest head coach in program history. Swinney passed Howard with a win over the Notre Dame Fighting Irish in November, giving him his 166th win.

Following the Tigers’ victory over the Kentucky Wildcats in the Gator Bowl, Swinney now stands at 170 career victories.

In addition to passing Howard, Swinney also passed these well-known coaches in career wins in 2023.

Fisher DeBerry, Air Force: 169 wins

Ken Hatfield, Clemson/Arkansas/Air Force/Rice: 168 wins

Bobby Dodd, Georgia Tech: 165 wins

Fielding Yost, Michigan: 165 wins

Bill Dooley, North Carolina/Virginia Tech/Wake Forest: 161 wins

Swinney continues to hold a lead over active coaches Mike Gundy (Oklahoma State, 166 wins) and Kyle Whittingham (Utah, 162 wins).

These are some of the coaches that Swinney could potentially pass in 2024 with regular season wins.

Wallace Wade, Alabama/Duke: 171 wins

Mark Richt, Georgia/Miami: 171 wins

Dan Devine, Notre Dame/Missouri/Arizona State: 172 wins

Frank Solich, Nebraska/Ohio: 173 wins

Bob Neyland, Tennessee: 173 wins

Don James, Washington/Kent State: 175 wins

Jackie Sherill, Texas A&M/Mississippi State/Pittsburgh/Washington State: 179 wins

Gary Patterson, TCU: 181 wins

If the Tigers were fortunate enough to win the ACC Championship and run the table in the College Football Playoff, Swinney could also pass or tie these legends.

Dick Tomey, Arizona/Hawaii/San Jose State: 183 wins

Darrell Royal, Texas/Washington/Mississippi State: 184 wins

Johnny Majors, Pittsburgh/Tennessee/Iowa State: 185 wins

The next highest active coach is Brian Kelly from LSU, who stands at 186 wins. Unless the Bayou Bengals have a couple dismal seasons, Swinney will find it challenging to catch Kelly.

These totals reflect games played on the field, and don’t count wins awarded retroactively due to forfeits from opponents.

Clemson kicks off the 2024 season against the Georgia Bulldogs in Mercedes-Benz Stadium in Atlanta, Georgia on August 31.